Homemade Breakfast Sausage

So everyone wants you to cut back on your sodium intake, drop unwanted pounds, & smile more. Here, I can help you with those, well certainly with reducing your sodium. Maybe it will make you smile a bit more, & may even knock off an ounce or two (if only by the weight of the salt savings over the years or something like that).

So I got this great recipe from my rehab class, cardiac rehab that is. As with any new recipe, I make it as instructed the first time, after that I modify it, using my great cooking super powers.

2 lbs. ground pork
1 egg
2 tsp. brown sugar
2 1/2 t. ground sage
1 tsp. dried marjoram
3/4 tsp. dried red pepper flakes or cayenne pepper
1/2 tsp. freshly ground black pepper
1/4 tsp. ground rosemary

DIRECTIONS
Combine ingredients in a large bowl and mix well using a fork or your hands. Form mixture into sixteen round (2- to 3-inch) patties. Heat griddle or skillet over medium and
brown patties on both sides, about 5 minutes per side. Drain on paper towels before serving.
sausage-001-post

Modified: I have left out the egg, as I don’t see that it helps any at all, & kind of ‘slimes’ the meat more. I also made the red pepper/cayenne pepper optional as I don’t see that it is needed in the recipe either. It’s a great addition, & adds just that bit of flavor, but many people don’t like either of them. Experiment of course.

2 lbs. ground pork
2 tsp. brown sugar
2 1/2 t. ground sage
1 tsp. dried marjoram
1/2 tsp. freshly ground black pepper
1/4 tsp. ground rosemary
3/4 tsp. dried red pepper flakes or cayenne pepper (optional)

You can either mix it by hand or with a fork. I started with a fork, but quickly went to using my hands, as I feel this helped mix it better. ANY TIME I work with raw meat, I have the hot water & soap ready for my hands, as well as for the pieces that I use to make it. Always safe.

I left the sausage in the bowl for about two hours (in the fridge) so the spices & meat could “marry”. You can let it go longer, it won’t hurt, but I was getting kind of hungry.

sausage-002-post
I used the plastic cutting board, & spread the sausage over it as evenly as I could. Working from the left (left off), I thinned it out a bit more, “pushing” the extra to the right. I took a 16 ounce plastic cup & made circles in the sausage. So kind of like a cookie cutter. The 16 oz cup is about the size of an English muffin (see breakfast sandwich). I used 6 of those for the that, the rest, I layered on parchment paper & froze. My yield for this was 16 thin, but large patties.

Though the sausage was mushy soft (albeit cold), it was difficult to work with. Freezing it a bit, even on the cutting board, probably would have helped a little, but it isn’t the first time I’ve had to work with meat that was soft.
I pre-cut the parchment paper that I wanted. A little over size, then cut into thirds was about the right size for the large patties. I used a spatula to lift/scoop them up; after making shaping them with the cup.
Sub note: you can squeeze the sides of the cup to let the air out, is it’s easier, or use a wide mouth glass.
Using the spatula, I traced the outline of the patty, scooped it up, & kind of painted it onto the parchment, shaping it into a patty & making it as even as I could.
Next sheet, new patty & so on. This went into the deep freeze, so it could be put into a freezer bag for storage; for Sunday breakfasts.

They will peel off the parchment pretty easily when I am ready for them. If by chance they don’t for you, you can place the patty in the hot pan with the paper on it, & it will come off easily once the patty starts cooking.

20170105_175542-post

One additional way of forming the patties is to recycle one of your frozen juice cans. Just cut off the bottom of the can. I didn’t trim the end in the picture, to show that I just cut it & inserted the sausage mix.

20170304_221229 crop post P

You don’t have to oil the sausage. Just fill the can, press or pat the sausage down (squeeze both end with your hands). Put these (you get two cans out of the above recipe) in the freezer to firm up. Just the heat of your hands for a couple minutes will let the sausage tube slide out for cutting. You should get about 17-20 decent patties from two pounds of sausage.

This is a great recipe in both sodium/chemical reduction, as well as price. You certainly should try it with ground turkey or chicken, just keep in mind that you’ll need a little fat content to help the former cook with out burning. Also (and depending on where you live), the price for ground turkey or chicken is nearly double that of pork.

2 thoughts on “Homemade Breakfast Sausage

Leave a Reply

