Chicken Parmesan Soup

Generally I/we call a soup something “brothy”, ie with a lot of broth, but not thick like stew. Pasta or rice to a dish, will keep swelling up till it becomes mush, absorbing all of the water. You know how the ‘stars’ are made in _ with stars soups (now you do), rice just “explodes” till it looks like a star. I recommend that you add these (pasta or rice) to the soup or high liquid content dish, per serving, so that the soup can be enjoyed for what it is.

Spaghetti (or it’s variants), is the exception to the rule, IF you like left overs of this (YUM), & it will absorb the “loose” water (like from your mushrooms).
Cook’s note: It’s your mushrooms as well as the tomato breakdown, not that you added too much water. No, adding a ship ton of salt isn’t going to fix it, but adding real parm instead of the cellulose stuff will help.

Here is the recipe for chicken Parmesan soup. There are a few fair recipes out there, here is my spin on it.

Firstly, I don’t like using breaded chicken in water dishes! This includes soup, anything steamed, or (God forbid) pizza! For one, the breading will turn to mush, secondly the spices in the bread crumbs will alter the taste of the dish. Now granted, chicken Parmesan more traditionally is a breaded chicken cutlet on pasta, under sauce & cheese; but this is soup. To cut time, you can use pre-cooked chicken slices (pieces, whatever). I used a huge (overly injected) breast & a couple thighs (I like thighs). You can leave either or all of them out. It wouldn’t be chicken parm, of course, more like parm soup.

For nearly every (or any) recipe, you can use sweated onions, not so this (or most Italian dishes). Please fry your (yellow) onions for proper taste. That said, you can use red or sweet if that’s your thing (but “fry” them).

In this, as in many recipes, I try to offer a few shortcuts, because face it, time is money, or something like that. Anyhow, in one of the pics, you’ll see chicken broth. It’s bullion, I didn’t thaw any broth. Bullion is shelf stable & will last seemingly forever. I did toss a couple pieces of chicken fat in the bowl for flavor. The water (as with bullion) was boiling (212df), so the fat was cooked. It didn’t “really” add any flavor boost, but maybe a little grease. It also shut the cat up.
broth postp
In this, I also wanted to use grated (green) “canned” Parmesan & NOT the real stuff. My goal is that most people are going to have that cellulose added cheese on hand, than they will real grated Parmesan (it looks like tiny pick up sticks). I did opt for a hand shredded mozzarella. I shredded it it, I’m cheap as well as a traditionalist ;}).
cooking combo postp
For the pics, & because I served it up to be eaten right away, I opted to put the pasta in, & let it finish as the cheese melted. It became less soupy pretty quickly (timing camera shots can take up some time). I certainly would have added another 5-11 cups of broth easily to this recipe. I also added the whole can (small one) of tomato paste, as I didn’t think it had enough of a tomato taste to it. The next time I need to add 10 or so cups of chicken broth to my chicken Parmesan (or make this soup), I will opt for a “jar” of spaghetti sauce for speed. Or add 3 Tbsp Italian Seasonings, 1 tsp crushed rosemary, maybe a little extra basil.

Anyhow, here is the recipe I came across to try. You can always try it this way, see if you like it that way?

1 large onion
3 cloves garlic minced
3 Tbsp tomato paste
1 tsp crushed red pepper flakes
1 (14.5oz) diced or crushed tomatoes
4 C chicken broth
1 lb boneless/skinless chicken breast chunked
8 oz pasta
1 1/2 C shredded Parmesan
1/2 C shredded mozzarella
Salt, pepper
Parsley for garnish

Cook onions 6 minutes till golden, add garlic, cook 1 more minute. Add paste, flakes, can of tomatoes & broth & bring to a simmer. Add chicken & cook till done (about 10-12 minutes).
Add pasta till Al Dente’ about 6-8 minutes.
Generously add cheese, S&P & mix. Ladle into bowl, top with parsley.

I, personally don’t feel it has a chicken Parmesan taste to it, & not the way that I would make a chicken perm soup. It tasted more like boiled chicken with cheese & tomatoes.

Leave a Reply

